The Prophet review

Goodreads:

My name is Amelia Gray.

I am the Graveyard Queen, a cemetery restorer who sees ghosts. My father passed down four rules to keep me safe and I’ve broken every last one. A door has opened and evil wants me back.

In order to protect myself, I’ve vowed to return to those rules. But the ghost of a murdered cop needs my help to find his killer. The clues lead me to the dark side of Charleston—where witchcraft, root doctors and black magic still flourish—and back to John Devlin, a haunted police detective I should only love from afar.Now I’m faced with a terrible choice: follow the rules or follow my heart.

Finished this book this morning.  I do not know if there will be another Graveyard Queen book because this one pretty much connected all the dots and tied up all the loose ends the other two books left.  I hope the author leaves it alone now and moves on to another series – I hate when authors drag out a series just because it is popular with the masses.  Series should have an end – this one ends perfectly right here.

Amelia is determined to save Devlin from the ghosts that drain him of life – his wife and daughter.  We sense that the circumstances around their death was always suspect – how could it have happened the way it was originally told? Why does Devlin’s dead daughter repeatedly ask Amelia to “come find me”?

I did enjoy the book – Amanda’s writing kept me enthralled for the most part.  Maybe it was the fact that I had so many interruptions that made the book seem like it took forever to get thru.  Maybe that is why the story seemed to move slowly and drag a bit in a few places.  Whatever the case, I found that it wasn’t as quick or easy a read as the other two had been.

I can still say, after three books, that I still had a hard time connecting with Amelia.  She makes such stupid choices sometimes that I shake my head in frustration.  Some would probably argue that her mistakes make her more human but I found it a bit irritating. 

To be rather honest, I hope the series does end because I can’t imagine reading any more of them.  They are good – don’t get me wrong, and I love the whole notion of Amelia seeing ghosts and being a graveyard restorer – but after a while, the things that happen to the same character over and over becomes monotonous – I would rather it be over now, on a good note. 

Read the series, I am sure you will like it if you like ghost stories.  :-)  I give the book a B++.

Leave a Reply

