Ghost Shadow review

Goodreads:

There are those who walk among us who are no longer alive, but not yet crossed over. They seek retribution…vengeance…to warn. Among the living, few intuit their presence.

Katie O’Hara is one who can.

As she’s drawn deeper and deeper into a gruesome years-old murder, whispered warnings from a spectral friend become more and more insistent. But Katie must uncover the truth: could David Beckett really be guilty of his fiancée’s murder?

Worse – the body count’s rising on the Island of Bones, and the dead seem to be reenacting some macabre tableaux from history. The danger is increasing by the moment – especially as Katie finds herself irresistibly drawn to David, who may be responsible for more than just one killing….

Just realized I didn’t write a review of this book.  Well, maybe that isn’t a bad thing. 

Ghost Shadow wasn’t horrible – it wasn’t brilliant or great either.  I would say I found it to be a general run-of-the-mill story with a plot that seems overdone these days.  Heather Graham ladled on the drama and played up the suspense but overall it seemed to this reader that the book fell flat. 

Katie O’Hara wasn’t all that interesting of a character  nor was David or the others that made up the meat of the story.  The killer was obvious practically from the beginning which rendered the anticipation nil. 

Maybe it is wrong to compare books but the Graveyard series deals with the same kind of thing – a person who can see the dead – and does it with more flair so after reading those, this struggled to maintain my attention.  If I find my brain wandering in the middle of the book so I have to read the same page several times – I’d say it failed to grab me.

Will I be reading more of this series? Maybe but it will be a long while until I do.  I give the book a C.

 

Leave a Reply

