The Listener review

 

The listener

Goodreads: Who was the mysterious listener? And what strange power did he offer to fifteen people on a desperate quest? John Godfrey, retired lawyer in a large midwestern city, erects a beautiful marble sanctum as a monument to his late wife. Inside, behind an electronic screen that hides him from each visitor, is the unknown one who sits. . .and listens.

I have to admit, I read this book about 20 years ago so this was a re-read.  It didn’t have the impact on me that it had the first time – I suppose because I knew the ending.  Really, it isn’t about figuring it out but about faith and the stories of ordinary people finding comfort.

I did enjoy the book – it still made me cry.

Leave a Reply

