Cold Fire review

Cold Fire

Barnes and Noble says: In Portland, he saved a young boy from a drunk driver. In Boston, he rescued a child from an underground explosion. In Houston, he disarmed a man who was trying to shoot his own wife. Reporter Holly Thorne was intrigued by this strange quiet savior named Jim Ironheart. She was even falling in love with him. But what power compelled an ordinary man to save twelve lives in three months? What visions haunted his dreams? And why did he whisper in his sleep: There is an Enemy. It is coming. It’ll kill us all…?

This is another re-read book.  I read this book back in my 20’s and really liked it so decided to give it a second reading.  Normally I’ve read Koontz’s books more than once but I lost this one and never replaced it.  I saw was given a digital copy recently.  Koontz was instrumental in the type of books I’ve been reading the past twenty years.  I read his “Midnight” and was hooked.

This book is about Mr. Ironheart who sees things before they happen and feels compelled to save certain people.  Why? He isn’t sure. Is it an alien thing? Did he really have an alien encounter when he was a child or was there something more traumatic in his past that spurred on these episodes? Can the reporter find out soon enough to save him?

Koontz adds a bit of it all in the book – paranormal as well as science fiction.  I found the ending climatic and found myself drawn into the events as they happened.  Koontz grabs the reader and keeps them going.

Admittedly not one of my favorite Koontz books but still good and worth the read.  It is his simplistic style in his first books that made me want to read more – back before he lost his luster.  I can not stand it when authors write more words just to have thicker books – write the story and worry about the pages later.  He wrote about six pages in one book just to describe the room which had no bearing on the storyline.  I pretty much stopped reading him after that.

Good book – worth the effort.  I give it a B.

One thought on “Cold Fire review

Leave a Reply

