Traveling Light review

Traveling Light: Releasing the Burdens You Were Never Intended to Bear

B&N says: Weary travelers. You’ve seen them-everything they own crammed into their luggage. Staggering through terminals and hotel lobbies with overstuffed suitcases, trunks, duffels and backpacks.
Backs ache. Feet burn. Eyelids droop. We’ve all seen people like that. At times, we are people like that-if not with our physical luggage, then at least with our spiritual load. We all lug loads we were never intended to carry. Fear. Worry. Discontent. No wonder we get so weary. We’re worn out from carrying that excess baggage. Wouldn’t it be nice to lose some of those bags? That’s the invitation of Max Lucado. With the twenty-third Psalm as our guide, let’s release some of the burdens we were never intended to bear.

My eldest sister, Carolyn, recommended this book to me because she knew I am a big fan of Dr. Stanley’s so thought I’d like Lucado too.  I have read Lucado before – over a decade ago – but don’t remember the book.  Still, I bought the book in paperback form so I could loan it out to family when I was finished.

Max writes in a wonderfully humorous style as he shares stories from his own life and the lives of those around him.  Some stories make you laugh out loud while others bring tears to your eyes.  There are always several stories you can relate to your life.

His simplistic style quickly teaches the principles of the book.  In this case, the book centers around Psalm 23 which we all know because it is recited at so many funerals.  I hadn’t really connected with the Psalm until I heard a sermon from Stanley on it so was anxious to read what Max had to say.  The Psalm really is beautiful and not about death necessarily but more on how God is with us through the tough times – the valley experiences in our lives.

At the back of the book is a study guide which I’m still going through.  Because I am limiting the books I buy to next to nil these days, I went to the library to get other books by Lucado.  I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and easily give it an A.

Leave a Reply

