A Walk in the Woods review

walk in the woods

Goodreads: The Appalachian Trail trail stretches from Georgia to Maine and covers some of the most breathtaking terrain in America–majestic mountains, silent forests, sparking lakes. If you’re going to take a hike, it’s probably the place to go. And Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaining guide you’ll find. He introduces us to the history and ecology of the trail and to some of the other hardy (or just foolhardy) folks he meets along the way–and a couple of bears. Already a classic, A Walk in the Woods will make you long for the great outdoors (or at least a comfortable chair to sit and read in)

As you can tell from my reviews, I also read Cheryl Strayed’s book “Wild” in which she walks the Pacific Crest Trail.  It was an enjoyable read that I could, as a woman, relate to on many levels. I laughed and cried in the course of reading the book.

“A Walk in the Woods” was different.  I suppose the main reason is that it was a man and men do things I just don’t understand.  I say that as a woman who raised a son as a single parent and who loves the differences.  I would never want a man who reacted like a woman in situations where I needed him to be a man and I’m sure most men would say the same thing about women.  :-)

This book made me not just laugh, but practically fall out of my chair laughing hysterically – sometimes at work.  Bill’s ideas, his shortcuts, his hiking partner… hilarious!  The people he met along the way…well, I have heard there were people like that out in the world and now I guess I know where to find them! LOL.

The one thing both books made me realize beyond a shadow of a doubt is that I will never attempt to walk either trail in any way, shape or form.  Though both writer’s talk about the comfort of getting back to the basics of life – I would not want to go through the pain to get to that place.  I love the outdoors – feel a kinship to the outdoors – but hiking mountains in deep snow…yeah, forget it.

Wonderfully written and funny from the first chapter, I have to say I very much enjoyed this book and recommend it without hesitancy.   I give the book an A!

Leave a Reply

