The Unwanted review

The UnwantedYes, I’ve already read this book and you would think that I wouldn’t keep going back to it over and over but I seem to. The book is different but I think what I like about it is the main character, Cassie.

The book is about a boy and a girl who both had an incident in a swamp when they were two years old.  The girls mother took her away to live in CA and it wasn’t until she died that the girl returned to her home state and to the father who loved her.  She barely arrives and strange things start happening.  The towns people all blame her and make her feel unwanted.  The boy is there and is her friend but she has no recollection of what happened to them when they were younger.  She is a teenager when she returns.

As you read through the book, you make assumptions about what is happening or what the people are like that, in some cases, turns out to be totally false in the end.  There is domestic abuse, fear, jealousy, hatred and a cat named Sumi.  Some of the characters are classic stereo-typical but one can hardly blame Saul for that…seems like just about every book has it in some fashion.

The book is classic Saul which pretty much sums the whole thing up if you are a fan of his.  I give the book a B+ which is slightly higher than last time I reviewed it.  I think I identified with Cassie even more this read through.  The end still disappoints me but also makes me have to admit that sometimes the bad people don’t always get the punishment we think they truly deserve.

Leave a Reply

