Darkness at the Edge of Town

Darkness on the Edge of Town

Goodreads: One morning the residents of Walden, Virginia, woke to find themselves cut off from the rest of the world by an impenetrable wall of darkness.

OK, this has made me decide that I am done reading Brian Keene.  The book is quite predictable and even a bit boring.  There is nothing new here – nothing exciting – nothing earth shattering – nothing that makes the book stand out.  I would almost swear that Brian Keene wrote this in his sleep.

In someone else’s review, they mentioned that the story was quite a bit like “the Mist”.  I knew there was something familiar about the book the entire time I was reading it but couldn’t put my finger on it until I read that.  Yes, it is so much like the Mist that I felt like I had read it before.

I have to say, I am a bit disappointed.  Maybe it isn’t all Keene’s fault – I told myself I was going to stop reading horror/sci-fi so maybe this book is a victim of the dying embers of interest in the genre.  I am not sure I will read anymore – it is all just too much the same.  What is sad is that I tried writing my own and found it also became a victim to the same formula that made the genre popular.  Maybe there is no original thought left out there.

I do find it sad when I “put away” an author.  Keene joins such greats as Koontz and King in my “so over it” file.  There are a few other authors that will soon be joining him there but who I am giving that one last try.

I give this book a C- and would say to read it only if there isn’t a copy of “The Mist” readily available.

Leave a Reply

