The Compassionate Life review

compassionate life

 

Goodreads: His Holiness the Dalai Lama says, “the key to a happier and more successful world is the growth of compassion.” Giving and receiving affection is the key to happiness, and compassion is the key that opens our hearts to affection. Illuminating themes touched upon in The Good Heart and The Art of Happiness, this generous and gentle book contains some of the most beloved teachings on compassion that the Dalai Lama has ever offered. Touching and transformative, The Compassionate Life is a personal invitation from one of the world’s most gifted teachers to live a life of happiness, joy, and true prosperity. His Holiness offers specific practices for developing loving-kindness and compassion in even the most difficult situations.

I know what you are thinking – this is a book on Buddhism so not one someone like Charles Stanley would approve of.  Well, boo hoo for him.  This book is more than a book on a religion – it  is about compassion, joy, and finding our happiness within.  The Dalai Lama tells us that all religions are beneficial and worthwhile – as long as we commit ourselves to them.  Religion doesn’t work if one isn’t committed.

Our purpose in life is to find happiness within ourselves by showing others compassion in every way we can.  We must learn to recognize emotions and stamp out whatever is causing ones like hate, envy, complacency, etc.  That we need to focus our minds on positive emotions and things rather than negative.

I have to say, I found this book very enlightening and progressive.  It will find a place on my reference shelf along with the Tao of Pooh.  I expect to go back through it to underline passages and make notes in the margins – there is a treasure trove of wisdom to glean.

This book was recommended to me by my niece, Kate, and I found it very enjoyable.  Yes, there were a few times it went a little over my head but I find that is often true when I first read a book – it is like my mind gets bogged down and can’t take in any more concepts.  This happened in the Tao of Pooh too but the more I read it, the more I understood it.  I expect it will be the same with this one.

It is only 107 pages with decent sized print so not hard on the eyes.  I decided to read another of his books when I get time.  :-)  I give the book an A+.

One thought on “The Compassionate Life review

Leave a Reply

