Insomnia

So I finished this book by Stephen King at 5:30 am this morning.  Considering I had to be up at 10 am, I should have one to bed earlier but whatever. 

The book is about an elderly man of 68 who starts having insomnia shortly after his wife dies.  It is a look at how the elderly man finds his way through grief to a new love while dealing with some pesky other-world creatures out to kill a few thousand people.

I must say, I was into the book from page about 60 to 245 but then the whole thing went south and never ventured back.  I ended up being quite disappointed in it and couldn’t wait for the 600+ pages to be over.  It was one of my least favorite King books – it wasn’t thought provoking and failed to get me interested in the characters other than the elderly man.

It is very rare for me to sit down with a 600+ page book – I don’t care for them and don’t want to be tied to one story that long.  The exception to this is The Shining which I found to be quite wonderful.   I will have no qualms about sitting down to read it several more times yet, it was that good…Insomnia, on the other hand, you couldn’t pay me to read again.

Leave a Reply

