Utopia

Started the book “Utopia” by Lincoln Child but forced myself to stop on page 64 when a new chapter began.  It is obviously going to be a long, involved book – 464 pages or some such thing.  Don’t have the energy to keep reading now – find myself skipping insignificant paragraphs because I’m too tired to concentrate on more narrative on some gadget I could care less about.  Get to the story, I say.  I don’t want every single display item in the theme park explained to me – it isn’t a real place so let me go by what my mind conjures up. 

However, as I said, I’m very tired so I find my concentration wans as time goes by.  It is after 2 am so I am falling alseep as I sit here.  I went to bed around 4:30 am this morning and then was awakened at 7:45 by work calling me.  I didn’t answer the phone but let it go to voice mail – figuring that whatever it was, it could wait until 9 am.  I tried to go back to sleep but couldn’t quite manage it.  At 9 am I called work back to find they needed me to come in at 11am and work a 12 hour day.  I had a lot to do today – finish shopping and wrap the presents – but I didn’t get any of that done until after work at 11pm.

So I walked the dogs, showered and headed into work.  I so wanted to grab MacDonald fries but I refrained – instead I ate a small salad, along with a venti eggnog latte from Starbucks, for breakfast/lunch around noon.  Work was painfully slow but I got a few things done that I had been needing to do.

Anyway, I didn’t get to grab the marbles I wanted for Lily’s birthday present because the place was closed by the time I got off work.  I bought her a candle instead – not quite as pretty as the marbles for her fishtank but oh well.  Got home, walked the dogs and wrapped presents.  My scotch tape ran out after the first present so I ran out to my car to get the tape I keep in there.  I have to admit, I waded through the deep snow in my bare feet because I was too lazy to put my boots on again.  Yes, my feet were pretty cold but it is only 25 feet to my car and back…maybe a trifle more or less.

Anyway, I am going to head for bed now.  My son mentioned me coming in early to go to the movie True Grit with him but I don’t imagine he will end up wanting to get up that early.  He had to work tonight too and wasn’t even closing up shop until around 3 am so getting up to go to a noon movie might be pushing it for both of us.  Still, I will go if he wants to.

Hope everyone has a MERRY CHRISTMAS/HOLIDAY SEASON!!!

Leave a Reply

