Yepper

I suppose it has been a couple days since I wrote a post – honestly, I don’t know as I haven’t looked at my blog and my days seem to mush together that half the time I don’t know what day it is.  This happens to folks on night shift – it can be very discombobulating. 

See, when I go home it is Wednesday morning even though I went to work on Tuesday night.  Then I will sleep for as long as I can which is my “night” but when I wake up it is still Wednesday.  I’m used to going to bed and waking up the next day so it can be confusing.  Plus, with winter, it is dark when I get off work and dark when I get up from sleeping (if I’m lucky). 

Lately I have only been sleeping 2 to 4 hours at a time.  While it seems to work for me as I take a nap or two during the day, my son informed me that this was unacceptable.  He believes 8 hours of continuous sleep for the body to refresh and keep one’s immune system working.  He says the REM sleep is crucial and studies have been done that people who don’t get it are more prone to depression and diseases like cancer.

While I don’t know if that is true or not, I am going to try to get more sleep in even if I have to take a sleeping pill again.

I have a meeting today from 2:30-4:30 so will have to be in for that.  I figure I will go to bed right away when I get done walking the dogs so that I can hopefully get in five hours of sleep before the meeting.  Then I will come home after the meeting and try to get 3 more before work.

On the bright side, I think my tushy is getting better as the pain wasn’t as intense tonight here at work.  I only had to get up four times to stretch it out and haven’t had any Advil or pain pill all night though I am going to take one here in a few minutes.  It has been hurting but I figured I would put it off for as long as possible but now my knee is starting to hurt too so figure it is time.

Been drinking coffee for the past two hours – one cup that I’ve been sipping on.  It tastes strong but part of that is because I’ve used less creamer.  I’m trying to work to drinking it black with nothing added…scary, I know.  Think part of my weight problem is what I’ve been drinking as much as what I’ve been eating.  I drink fat free creamer and 1% milk but I drink a lot of both.  I won’t cut out my milk but need to cut out the creamer and cut down on the milk.  Went through a gallon of milk in 2 days the other day – that is way too much.

Well, it is getting closer to time to go home.

Leave a Reply

