Someone in the House

by Barbara Michaels.  This book is about a house that has withstood hundreds of years as people came and went.  Everyone who lives in this house is incredibly happy – their lives always are what they want them to be.  They marry well, invest well, and are always successful.

Two teachers go there – one’s parents own the place and the other is just visiting.  Before long they are in a twisted weave of strange things happening – voices in the night, etc., etc.  One ghost is particularly fond of having sex with the male teacher at night though he has no memory of it later.

The book fails to be scary or even the least bit fun – I was quite disappointed.  There is rarely anything exciting going on and found it hard to stay too interested in it.  This is the second book of hers that I’ve read – I can’t say when I will read any more – if ever.  I think I might have one or two more on my bookshelf though so then will have to read those.

The book ends up being that the house has a sort of live energy that just wants every person who lives there to be happy – to take care of them the way they take care of it.

All in all, I wouldn’t recommend it but yet I wouldn’t say it was terrible either.

Leave a Reply

