Gym

This morning I was up at 5:45 am after barely getting 4 hours of sleep.  Around 8:15 (I wanted to miss the morning commuters) I took the dogs for a 1.5 mile walk at the river trail – it was miserable and both were ready to come home.  We got home around 9:30 or 10 am so I worked on a work project for a couple hours and cleaned a little until 1 pm which is when I like going to the gym.

OK, I have coworkers who get on the elliptical and are speed demons.  One made it well over a mile in 20 minutes and another goes 3 miles in an hour.  I do not know how they do it.  My legs are moving as fast as I can make them go – averaging 58 to 60 rpm.  My pulse stays in the high 140’s and sometimes spikes into the 150’s.  I can do 45 minutes to an hour if I push myself but feel most comfortable at 30 minutes – especially as hot as the gym has been lately.  My coworkers must really fly and maybe I’ll get my speed up as I go along but I’m skeptical.

Back six months ago, I couldn’t be on the elliptical for more than 3 minutes – usually I was dying by 2 minutes.  So I have come a long way as far as endurance goes – I have yet to lose any weight but everyone keeps saying that will come eventually.  I’d like to know what “eventually” means cuz I’ve been at this for months.  Granted, I haven’t been really steady in my attendance at the gym but I plan on doing better in that area.  I have been walking over a mile almost everyday since the weather got nice – that should count for something.

Well, I think it is time for a 2 hour nap – then have to do laundry.  Man, I am so happy I have tonight off! Hope it storms but then stays cool instead of getting humid again.  Yuck!

Leave a Reply

