Guardian

I should have recognized the name and I think I did subconsciously but it didn’t make the forefront of my brain until I started reading it.  The book was a “preorder, new” book from John Saul – thinking it was an actual new book, I preordered it and started reading it.  Of course it isn’t a new book at all – it is a revamp of an old book I have already read!! I was livid! Why did the description say on it that it was a reprint or one that was just become available for the Nook??? Man it pissed me off – I don’t have a lot of money to spend on books each month – I totally limit myself to around $30 a month (though up to $50 is not uncommon) so would never have bought this if I had known.  There are other NEW books out there I would like to have over this one.

I promised myself I wouldn’t try to finish the book today as I had barely gotten it started but I couldn’t put it down.  I absolutely love my Nook! I don’t know how I ever got along without it.  🙂

However, let me review the book and quit whining.  This book is about a family who lives in Nebraska.  The husband and wife are killed in two different accidents on the same day so the godmother brings her two kids to live on the ranch and take care of the couple’s son.  They notice something is off about the boy but they chalk it up to grief over losing his parents so tragically.

In the woods around the ranch, people are dying – murdered by a strange creature that no one has seen.  As the story goes along, you find that the “ideal” husband and wife were far from ideal and that things aren’t always as they seem.  I can’t say too much more without giving the book away but it is good up until near the ending.  I had forgotten that a couple of my favorite characters die at the end which made me so mad the first time I didn’t know if I would ever read Saul again.

However, I am glad I got over that because he is a good writer and one of the few who has, on occasion, even been able to scare me.  I don’t remember which of his books I found so disturbing I had nightmares – but I seriously considered never reading him again after that one too.  He is out there sometimes but I do like the way he weaves a story and how he isn’t afraid to kill off main characters – though it makes me mad when he does so.

Anyhow, if you get the chance you should check it out.  I wish B&N allowed all books to be loaned cuz this is one I would recommend to others who have nooks.  Really need to get more friends on Nook so I can borrow and lend books.  There are so many good ones out there that I can’t begin to buy them all.  🙂

Leave a Reply

