Cater Street Hangman

I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the time period it was set in.  I was not surprised by the end, I had the killer figured out way ahead of time, but I was surprised by the motive until the last chapter when I thought it was pretty evident.

The book is about a family that is of high social order. Though rich and entitled, the women in the family do their best to attend to the ill and poor, perhaps on a superficial level but still, they try according to their upbringing.  As the story goes, several women are found murdered on Cater Street somewhat reminiscent of the Boston Strangler.  It is the mention, several times, that the women were not molested that made the killer evident to me but I read enough of this type of book to find the clues.

The good – the book is wonderful with its characters, its attention to even the smallest details and made me care about the family.  The women are Caroline (mom), her eldest Sarah who is married to Dominic, her second eldest Charlotte who is the main character pretty much and the one who defies the societal norms the most, then the youngest Emily who only wishes to marry well.  As the story goes and the murders hit closer to home (they live near Cater Street), secrets they wished to keep hidden begin to be exposed as everyone is suspect.

The bad – I couldn’t really come up with anything bad to say about the book.  The sample was done in extremely small print – smaller than any book I have ever read in my life – but to make it larger was to distort the sentences.

I have to say, I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes historical romance/murder mysteries.  I give this book an A!

**I received this book from Netgalley which required me to read and write a review.  The review is not required to be favorable though, in this case, it certainly is.  🙂

Leave a Reply

