The Pumpkin Man review

Let me begin with how Barnes and Nobel describes the book:

After her father’s gruesome murder, Jenn needed a place to get away from it all with some friends, to take her mind off her grief. The empty seaside cottage she inherited seemed perfect. Jenn didn’t know that the cottage held arcane secrets, mysteries long hidden and best left alone. She didn’t realize until it was too late that the old books and Ouija board she found there really do hold great power. And it was only after her friend’s headless body was discovered that she knew the legend of the local bogeyman was no mere legend at all. An evil has been unleashed, a terrifying figure previously only spoken of in whispers. But now the whispers will become screams. Beware…THE PUMPKIN MAN

This book is a perfect book to satisfy a person’s need for a Halloween thriller. Long ago the Pumpkin Man killed children in the small town Jenn moves to.  Now, thirty years later the Pumpkin Man is back killing the parents of the slaughtered children along with Jenn’s father.  The story has several twists as it winds it’s way through the plot to the not-so-original ending.

The good: the book had several tense scenes that made me want to look over my shoulder.  At one point I paused to consider if it would give me nightmares.  I liked Everson’s descriptions and the sense of forboding that he wove in the story. Also, I picked the wrong person to be the killer though looking back, I can see where my mistake was made.

The bad: the ending left a few questions unanswered which some might think that is to have a lead in to a sequel but I don’t think so in this case.  I did not care for the gory scenes – I can read that someone’s head is lopped off without having to go into the bloody details.  I love scary books but gore, to me, only cheapens the story. There were some chapters in the book that seemed to get bogged down with unnecessary information that didn’t benefit the storyline.

Overall I would give the book a B.

Leave a Reply

