Sorry to say

I’m sorry to say that I’m not really getting into the Talisman.  Really, I don’t know what is wrong with me that I have been having more books I don’t like than do lately.  I had some good ones (Subterranean,The Thing, Wait till Helen Comes, etc) and I’ve had a great one (Mountain Between Us) this month but so far this week I can’t get into anything.  I hate it.  I love when good books keep me company – they are like letters from old friends.

Jade over at “Chasing Empty Pavements” seems to be able to keep with a story whether it is good or not.  She writes terrific reviews too.  But I can’t seem to make myself keep with something that isn’t holding my interest.

One of the women at work recommended the book “Losing You” about a woman who loses her 15 year old daughter.  Reading the blurb about it, I’ve decided to skip it as it reminds me too much of Carlie Brusca and Denise.  I don’t need those reminders.  “Still Missing” is about as far as I want to go into the whole kidnapping plot.  I read to escape reality, not wallow in it.  This is why I like sci-fi and ghost stories so much – those kinds of things don’t really happen.

Oh well.  I guess I will keep working my way through my “to-read” list on Goodreads until I find one I like.  I have over 60 books on there so there has to be a few good/great ones, right?

One thought on “Sorry to say

  1. I remember when I was in that rut. It sucked!!! I don’t know how or why I stick with a book if its not the best..I guess because I feel obligated to give an honest review to warn others. But if a book really truly is awful and I’m having a hard time with it, I will usually quit reading it. My problem is lately, I have too many good booksbcoming at me. The book I’m reading marks like the 6th or 7th book in a row I’ve read that has been awesome. Btw… I was gonna suggest the author Octavia Butler…she is a sci-fi / thrillerish writer with historical elements. Like Iron Lace mixed with some sci fi. I recommend Kindred. Loved that one!

Leave a Reply

