Hmmmm

I’m beginning to wonder if this blog thing hasn’t run its course.  In looking at my stats dating clear back to when I started the blog, I can see a definite pattern of upsweeps and downsweeps in readers.  So far though, 2011, was the worse year yet which makes me think maybe folks have given up on reading blogs.

I don’t think it is just my blog.  I checked some of the overall stats on the WordPress website and they also are declining this year.  Have people found a better blog site? Is WordPress on its way out? I wonder.

Really though, I don’t have the energy to start a new blog on a different site.  If I quit writing on this one, I think I would quit writing period for a blog.  I’ve gone more to book reviews because my personal life is rather boring these days.  Plus the more book reviews I do, the more books Netgalley lets me preview.

No worries, I’m not ready to throw in the towel yet.  I will continue to read and review books with a bit of personal stuff thrown in now and then.  Maybe readership will pick back up in 2012.  Sometimes I think I shouldn’t look at stats – they can bring me down.  I like to think I write more for myself than others but it is still nice to have my efforts read by others.  🙂

Pumpkinhead 1 & 2

How did I miss these little gems in the horror flick world? I’m amazed that they never darkened my door until tonight.  Seriously – they are sweet little horrors.  I stumbled upon them by accident actually while looking at Lance Henriksen’s movies.  It is amazing how many movies he has been in.  He is young in this one and not all that bad looking either.

Pumpkinhead is a demon that can be raised by an old witch who lives in deep in the backwoods of Georgia.  We are talking real hillbilly types.  Lance’s son is accidentally ran over by five teenagers out dirt racing.  The teens leave the scene of the accident except for one who tells Lance it was an accident but Lance doesn’t care – his son is dead and that was that.

He visits the old witch and contracts his soul for revenge.  The old woman conjours up old Pumpkinhead who takes great pleasure in hunting down the teens.  Lance, after the first couple die, realizes the horrible mistake he has made and tries to stop the demon but it is too late – once conjured up, Pumpkinhead doesn’t go away until his job is done.

When a neighboring kid tries to help the remaining teens, Lance decides to take action before the local kid can come to harm.  Lance figures out how to stop Pumpkinhead short of his goal and gives the ultimate sacrifice.

Yes, the movie is cheesy and so very, very predictable but I have to say, it was interesting too.  The creature, Pumpkinhead, is done very well – I wonder who comes up with these things? My monsters are so unoriginal and I often blame the fact that all the monster types have been done already – but then Pumpkinhead comes along with a strange-looking one that is different from the ones before.  Quite cool.

I was glad to see that there were no ways to ward off the Pumpkinhead – no crosses, no garlic, no silver bullets – once conjured up the only way to kill it before it finished its mission is to kill the person who conjoured it up to begin with.   Of course in #2, it is a bunch of very stupid teenagers who first hit the old witch with their car and then the one hits her with a flashlight when she tries to keep them from conjuring up the demon.  The old woman’s house starts on fire due to the kid hitting her and the woman is pulled out by Pumpkinhead who needs to avenge her.  I am still watching it so don’t know how it ends but probably with the old woman’s death and, thereby, Pumpkinhead too.

Netflix, of course, didn’t have the movies available for streaming – why am I not surprised? – so I rented them on Vudu.  Ugh.  Maybe I need a good Pumpkinhead like story for my book.

It’s Sunday, what is in your mailbox?

It is Sunday, what is in your mailbox? 

Ha, I’ve been waiting all week to fill this one in because I’m so excited about this month’s purchases:

                

and I preordered:

 which doesn’t come out till next year.

I have already read the House Next Door, obviously, and reviewed it.  One of my book clubs in Goodreads is reading the first one this month so I got it in hopes that I could participate in the discussion there.  It is the Stephen King book club.  I’ve promised my son I would read the Gunslinger so that is on the list as well.

Have no idea what I will start reading next as this is Nano month and I don’t want to fall behind in my writing.  Of course I’ll be reading Nightmare and Dreamscapes but other than that, I don’t know what I’ll be reading.  Funny how it seemed like I bought so many books but yet, there really isn’t that many there, is there?

I also got Steals and Deals (books under $3):