Video: Chasing Empty Pavements review

This is Chasing Empty Pavements review of the above book (mine, of course) posted on Goodreads:

Jade Hankes‘s review

Dec 12, 11
4 of 5 stars
             Read in December, 2011          

                      Originally posted at my blog Chasing Empty Pavements
So not only did I LOVE this book, but it’s very close to my heart because my good friend wrote it. Normally this wouldn’t be such a huge deal except that I kind of found her book on a fluke. She didn’t advertise it and I’m pretty sure she didn’t say anything because she didn’t WANT people to know about it. But you know what? I don’t know why the hell she didn’t want anyone to know about it because it was FANTASTIC!
The Good: Well first off, I was seriously impressed with the writing. I thought it was extraordinary for not being professionally edited or anything. I loved the characters and I could see SO much of my friend in the main character Kate. She’s feisty, spunky and sarcastic. I loved all the other characters and the legend of the “sea.” I thought the dialogue was great and I really enjoyed following the relationships of the characters. Oh and hello, this cover? So simple it’s gorgeous!
The Bad: Honestly, there’s not much wrong with this novel. Even being as close as I am to the author, there are ALWAYS things to improve on. I think that she were to try to publish this and had the support of an editor, this could totally be a hugely successful novel!
Overall, I think that K. Jackson is a wonderfully, talented writer and this novel was the start of many great novels. I give it an A-!!
*I purchased this book from Barnes and Noble and it’s only $4.99 right now!

Personally, I think she was too generous but she is a sweetie who is good-hearted which makes her generous to a fault.  Still, I’m glad she liked it.  It does need some work and I could use a professional editor to go through it with me but since I don’t know any, I guess it will stay imperfect for now.

Leave a Reply

