Teaser Tuesday

Today’s teasers come from:

 

pg 112: “The night he grabbed me was June fourteenth.” Amanda’s eyes communicated her dismay and loss.  “The store stayed open that night until ten.  An author signing.  I didn’t get home until midnight.  He had a cloth with some kind of chemical in it, something he pressed over my mouth when I passed an alley.”  She took another deep breath.  “When I woke up, I was on the bed upstairs.  He was sitting next to me, holding my hand.” She closed her eyes, lowered her head, and quivered as if she tasted something disgusting.  “That’s when he explained the facts of my new life.”

pg 115: The chair was heavy.  Balenger shifted his weight from one side to the other, but the chair resisted. When he lifted his weight harder, faster, the chair started rocking.  Abruptly, it was off-balance.  Unable to see and judge the fall, he couldn’t prepare himself as the chair toppled sideways.  The shock of hitting the floor startled him.  He rubbed his head along the carpet, hoping to tug off the hood, but sweat stuck the material to his head.  It wouldn’t come free.

Leave a Reply

