Firefly Rain review

Goodreads:

When Jacob left home for a new life, he pretty much forgot all about Maryfield, North Carolina. But Maryfield never forgot him. Or forgave him.

After a failed business venture in Boston, Jacob Logan comes back to the small Southern town of his childhood and takes up residence in the isolated house he grew up in. Here, the air is still. The nights are black. And his parents are buried close by. It should feel like home—but something is terribly wrong.

Jacob loses all his belongings in a highway accident. His car is stolen from his driveway, yet he never hears a sound. The townspeople seem guarded and suspicious. And Carl, the property caretaker with so many secrets, is unnervingly accommodating. Then there are the fireflies that light the night skies . . . and die as they come near Jacob’s home. If it weren’t for the creaking sounds after dark, or the feeling that he is being watched, Jacob would feel so alone. He shouldn’t worry. He’s not.

And whatever’s with him isn’t going to let him leave home ever again.

Started this book last night and finished it around 2pm this afternoon.  Yes, I stayed up after I got off work to finish the book though I kept telling myself I’d stop after one more chapter all the way to the end.

There is so much about the book that I really liked.  His talk about chasing fireflies, his descriptions of a small town bent on not being yanked into the 21st century, the fields, the woods, the farm and even the house made me homesick for a home I never had.   It was so idyllic that I wanted it to be my home – minus the parents that is.  To sit out on a large porch watching the sunset with only the sound of the bullfrogs breaking the silence – to look up not only at zillions of stars but also thousands of fireflies – to feel that sense of peace of mind…wow, it really spoke to me.

It wasn’t hard to figure out what was going on though I found myself getting angry with Jacob a time or two for his bullheadedness.  He was so blind but then, that is what the book is about, him realizing his mistakes and claiming his home.  The moral of the story is keep your promises – don’t promise stuff lightly with no intention of fulfilling it.  Promises made and broken affect more than just yourself and can hurt a person so much that they can’t forget it, even after death.

The book is not scary – the ghosts are very friendly and nothing scary happens through the whole thing.  It goes to show that not every ghost story has to involve ghosts bent on revenge or death.  I found the ghosts endearing and wouldn’t mind being haunted if it were by good ghosts.

Before I went to bed I was thinking I would give the book a C because I was so disgusted with Jacob for being so stubborn.  However, now that I’m refreshed and rested, I easily give the book an A because it made me think, it entertained me and it was well written.

Leave a Reply

