The Lantern review

Goodreads says:

A modern gothic novel of love, secrets, and murder–set against the lush backdrop of Provence

Meeting Dom was the most incredible thing that had ever happened to me. When Eve falls for the secretive, charming Dom in Switzerland, their whirlwind relationship leads them to Les GenEvriers, an abandoned house set among the fragrant lavender fields of the South of France. Each enchanting day delivers happy discoveries: hidden chambers, secret vaults, a beautiful wrought-iron lantern. Deeply in love and surrounded by music, books, and the heady summer scents of the French countryside, Eve has never felt more alive.

But with autumn’s arrival the days begin to cool, and so, too, does Dom. Though Eve knows he bears the emotional scars of a failed marriage–one he refuses to talk about–his silence arouses suspicion and uncertainty. The more reticent Dom is to explain, the more Eve becomes obsessed with finding answers–and with unraveling the mystery of his absent, beautiful ex-wife, Rachel.

Like its owner, Les GenEvriers is also changing. Bright, warm rooms have turned cold and uninviting; shadows now fall unexpectedly; and Eve senses a presence moving through the garden. Is it a ghost from the past or a manifestation of her current troubles with Dom? Can she trust Dom, or could her life be in danger?

I am finally done with this book.  I have to enlarge the screen so I can see the letters I am typing because my eyes are so blurry and hurt from the strain of reading so many hours.  I am a lover of books – I can not help it.  Can I just mention, once again, that I still love the story “Supernaturals”, “Woman in Black” and “The Man in the Painting”?  I know, this is about The Lantern but the residue of these other books is always with me and, unfortunately or not, what I am comparing all the other ghost stories too.

The Lantern is a story that shows us things are not always what they seem, that our imagination can run away with us, and that things that seem spectral can often be logically explained.  Unfortunately for me, it took way too long to develop so the realization of this was not met with the “light dawning in the window” fascination that I’m sure the author had hoped for.

Drawn out, very long and bordering on boring, The Lantern fails to grab me as the previously mentioned books did.  The switching between past and present makes a person feel like they’ve spent an hour on the “tilt-a-whirl” – for those of you too young to know what that is, believe me, it is not fun.

I did like the history and descriptions in the book.  The author does a splendid job of describing the house, the grounds, and the villages throughout the story.  She describes flowers and scents like no one I’ve ever read before – making one almost anticipate the aroma that should jump from the pages but never does.   I would fill my house with flowers if it would be anything like what she details throughout the story.

In the end, in my opinion, the book failed to live up to the hype in the description – yes, I was disappointed.  Of course, comparing it to the other books makes me more so which isn’t probably fair but I can’t help it.  When you read some fantastic books, anything less is sure to fall short.  I give this book a C+.

 

Leave a Reply

