Alien review

I thought this book was the basis for the film but that is not true.   Goodreads advises:

The crew of the spaceship Nostromo are awakened from cryogenic sleep by apparent distress signals originating from an unknown planet. The astronauts land on the planet and investigate a derelict alien craft.  One of the crew is attacked by an alien life form, but survives. When the crew return to the Nostromo and are safely on their way back to Sol, none foresee the real horror about to begin…

So I thought the movie was based on the book but it ends up the book is based on the movie.  Therefore there isn’t a lot that is different from the movie.  I was disappointed to say the least.  I thought the book would be more involved than the movie – that I’d have an exciting read but no…guess not.

That isn’t to say the book isn’t interesting but it is like reading the script for the movie.  WTF?  I can watch the movie and get this information – I don’t need to read the script.

If one wasn’t expecting it to be the book based on the movie, the book would be good.  I give it a B-.

Leave a Reply

