Promise Me Eternity

Dr Simon Patterson is a successful and well-respected neurosurgeon at Central Hospital in the town of Medford. Married, though without children, he keeps himself so busy that one day is not much different from another. Until, that is, he saves the life of the powerful mobster Carlo Vucci. At a dinner in honor of Dr. Patterson, Carlo Vucci introduces him to his alluring wife Christine. Simon is entranced by her beauty. Three weeks later, Christine shows up at the hospital, complaining of terrible headaches. Dr. Patterson offers to help her, but Christine did not come to see him just because of her headaches. A series of shocking events follow that turn Dr. Patterson’s life into a nightmare. Among other things, he finds himself in court being accused of murder in the first degree …

I’m sorry, I could not get into this book.  It was predictable and not very original.  Plus the story was told to us, rather than giving the feeling that you are actually in the story.  Mr. Fox does well describing scenes.

This is not to say that some who like mysteries and crime dramas might not like the book – but I can say in no uncertain terms that this was not my cup of tea.  This was my first and last book by this author.  I feel badly because he asked me to review this book and share what I thought about it on my blog, I’m sure expecting a great review.  😦

Leave a Reply

