Various Haunts of Men

I’m trying to read this book but am finding it very difficult – has anyone else read it? If so, what did you think?

I keep finding errors in spelling and typos – plus the story just moves so slowly! I don’t care about any of the characters which I’m told is happens when the author doesn’t get to know & love the characters themselves – how can the reader care about them if the author didn’t?

How could I love her book “The Woman in Black” but dislike this one so intensely?  It is said to be the first of this one detective but so far he hasn’t been in the story much at all and what I do see makes him see snooty, aloof and boring.

I hate when I struggle through books!!!

Leave a Reply

