Wolf Gift review

 

 

Goodreads description of this book takes up three paragraphs so I’m going to forego the usual summary.  The book is about a young, rich man who gets bit by a werewolf.  He struggles to understand and accept the changes in his life and restricts himself to only killing the bad guys (Dexter as a wolf man).  He wants to know all he can about being a werewolf and gets in touch with others like him.  Of course even though he is ridding society of the bad element, the police are still intent on hunting him down so he must elude them. 

OK, I’m sorry but there is no other way to say I found this book so ungodly boring that I had to force myself to read it.  I kept hoping it would get better but it didn’t.  The writing is bogged down with innate details of a mansion that it takes up pages upon pages – and just when you think it is finally done, the author starts all over again. 

I had no feelings for the characters – didn’t care what happened to them or what they felt.  Seriously, I wanted more drama not endless narrative.  This really was a big disappointment to me.  I know so many people loved it but I could not get into it at all…very bland and dry.

My thought is Rice tried to write a more caring and personable werewolf – someone who helps humanity kind of like Batman with all the sufferings of Brad Pitt in Interview with a Vampire.  I saw snippets of it here and there in the story but it was never fully developed to where we felt his pain. 

The main character falls in love within minutes of seeing the two women in the book – really? Is love so easily found or realized? If a wolf man came to my door, would I say “Oh, cool, let’s have sex?”  I tend to think not.

Too many coincidences, too many times of rolling my eyes, and way too many times of tossing the book down in disgust for me to give it anything but a D.  You want a good wolf story, read Wolf Hunt.

Leave a Reply

