Legend of Sleepy Hollow review

The chief part of the stories, however, turned upon the favorite specter of Sleepy Hollow, the Headless Horseman, who had been heard several times of late, patrolling the country; and, it was said, tethered his horse nightly among the graves in the churchyard. The story was immediately matched by a thrice marvelous adventure of Brom Bones, who made light of the Galloping Hessian as an arrant jockey. He affirmed that on returning one night from the neighboring village of Sing Sing, he had been overtaken by this midnight trooper; that he had offered to race with him for a bowl of punch, and should have won it too, for Daredevil beat the goblin horse all hollow, but just as they came to the church bridge, the Hessian bolted, and vanished in a flash of fire.

Decided to read this as it is a classic and not that long so fit into the amount of time I had to read.  In the beginning I  loved the dialect it was written in – the old English – however, by the time it was done, I was rather tired of it.

It had some wonderfully discriptive lines such as “Though many years has elapsed ince I trod the drowsy shades of Sleepy Hollow, yet I question whether I should not still find the same trees and the same families vegatating in its sheltered bosom.”

I was disappointed in the lack of dialogue or the feeling that I was in the story.  I know it is a classic and all but I would give it a C at best.

One thought on “Legend of Sleepy Hollow review

  1. This is a story that I always forget about! I’d like to read this one to see what it’s like, my knowledge of the story is only vague memories from childhood!

Leave a Reply

