If I stay review

Goodreads describes this as:

A critically acclaimed novel that will change the way you look at life, love, and family.

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces – to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

This book came highly recommended to me by a friend in FL.  She said to read it but to not read it at work because of the tear factor.  Well, I read it at work and I think that kept me from the all out sobbing I would have done if I was home alone.  Did I cry? Yes, yes I did – but they were silent tears that rolled gently down my cheeks.

I thought the statement in bold was a bit reaching – I was skeptical to say the least.  I am not skeptical anymore.  The book is a wonderful blend of memories Mia has while lying comatose in the hospital and her consciousness of what those around her are going through.  There were times, yes, when I didn’t care about the memories – I wanted to get back to her struggle to stay and fight or to leave.

She knows that to stay in fight is infinitely harder than surrendering to the pain & endless sleep.  Does she have it in her to face all the recovery ahead?

The writing puts you in the car, the helicopter and the hospital – each is described very well.  Mia’s understanding of all that has happened tugs at your heart strings from the very beginning.

Very good book – a real tear-jerker.  I give the book an A+

2 thoughts on “If I stay review

  1. I’ve had this book for like EVER and still haven’t read it. Every time I hear a good review, I tell myself I’m going to go read it and then something else comes up. I will have to read it now though, because if there’s a book in common that we share and you like it…chances are I will like it as well!

Leave a Reply

