Desperate Housedogs review

Goodreads says:

When Caro Lamont, former psychologist turned pet therapist makes a house call to help Kevin Blackstone with his two misbehaving German Shepherd dogs, she expects frantic dogs, she expects a frantic dog owner, she even expects frantic neighbors. What she doesn’t expect is that two hours later the police will find Kevin dead, his dogs impounded; and that as the last person to see Kevin alive (well, except for the killer) she is suddenly a person of interest, at least according to Homicide Detective Judd Malone.

This is a cute mystery book written by a duo in Des Moines, IA.  Since they are from my home state, I had to give them a read to see what their pampered pets were up to.  This is book one of the pampered pet series with the second one, Get Fluffy, already out for folks to read.

I loved the pets the different owners had and how their pet seemed to define their character throughout the book.  Caro is so inquisitive that Malone becomes rather irritated with her for butting in even though her help is invaluable.  She reminds me of what my mother used to call a “busy body” getting involved in things that she shouldn’t.

I liked the story, liked the simplicity, loved the pets, and the overall plot was quite good.  My only complaint about the book is sometimes I felt like I was told the story rather than being involved but I think this is because the story is written in the first person.  My college writing teacher told us that this is one of the hardest forms to write in and, for me, one of the hardest forms to read.  Sparkle Abbey does a good job of it but sometimes I kind of wished for the third person approach.

For sure I will continue to follow the series – the second on is on my wish list for July.  If you are a die-hard horror or hard-core mystery fan, these might be a bit too fluffy for you (get it?) but I found it a delightful book to sit in the sun and read while pretending I was on a beach far, far away.  🙂  I give the book an A.

Leave a Reply

