The Kingdom review

Goodreads:

Deep in the shadowy foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains lies a dying town…My name is Amelia Gray. They call me The Graveyard Queen. I’ve been commissioned to restore an old cemetery in Asher Falls, South Carolina, but I’m coming to think I have another purpose here.

Why is there a cemetery at the bottom of Bell Lake? Why am I drawn time and again to a hidden grave I’ve discovered in the woods? Something is eating away at the soul of this town—this withering kingdom—and it will only be restored if I can uncover the truth.

I know I didn’t say I was going to start reading this book but that was because I didn’t know until I read the first couple pages and couldn’t stop.  So far I really like this series The Graveyard Queen and practically flew through the story, gobbling up more until it was complete.  Even after working a 10 hour night, I still had to stay up waaaayyyy past my bedtime this morning to finish it.  

Amanda has a wonderful writing style of giving you enough descriptions and eeriness to hold you prisoner to the story.  Amelia is courageous, fun but yet a bit wary of those around her and this second book in the series explains why that is.  You figure it out quickly enough but are so captivated by the author’s descriptions of the Blue Ridge Mountains and the character of Asher Falls that it matters not in the least.  Amanda describes the BRM so beautifully that I feel I should go see the area someday. 

Creepy yet intriguing, Amanda shares the legends and mystic of not only the BRM but also the people who live in Asher Falls who are unfriendly even in their friendliness.  Ghosts abound as Amelia searches for clues as to why the area speaks to her on the deepest level – what is lurking in the woods that keeps the townspeople indoors at night? Why is there a rush to empty the streets before the sun goes down? Who floods a graveyard with such disregard and greed?

Never going over the top into gory, Amanda fabulously intertwines murder, ghosts, romance, supernatural and secrets until you ache for Amelia who suffers such loneliness because she is different yet so loveable.  She makes mistakes, jumps in fool heartedly, but always with the best intentions and a yearning to understand that is distinctive of the human race.

The bad – well, I can’t say there was anything I disliked about the book.  I felt the villain deserved to suffer way more than they did for the horror inflicted on those around them with such callous disregard for life.  How far will arrogance and greed take a person? In many cases, way too far –  I wanted them to deeply suffer for the atrocities. 

I easily give the book an A+ and can not wait to read the next in the series.  🙂

One thought on “The Kingdom review

Leave a Reply

