Camp NaNoWriMo

Now that I am done and am reading what I wrote, I am discouraged and feel like a fake.  Half the stuff is going to have to be rewritten or revamped anyway – not to mention the misspelled words, grammar issues and what not.  I may have made 50,000 but it is not quality work. 

Strange that I feel rather down now that it is over – exhausted but down too.  I had more days of creative free-flow than on any other NaNo writing experience to date but the minute I became a “winner” it all dried up – my muse deserted me and left me crying in the shadows.

I have no desire to write another word on this story.  Seriously – some people are already thinking about the rewrite and sending it to editors but I don’t even want to look at it again. 

It has made me want to work on a couple other stories I have going though so maybe that will be a good thing – maybe my muse isn’t gone but is merely taking a nap. 

A person would think I’d be more excited about this accomplishment but I’m not – I’m just exhausted.

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I know exactly how you feel. I did nano for several years but have skipped the past couple of years. I would rather take longer and have something worthwhile when I am through. Congrats that you finished though. That is an accomplishment.

  2. Yeah, I don’t know that I will do it again in November or not. I spend so many hours trying to knock out the first draft and then spend at least that again trying to correct it. Just hardly seems worth it. Don’t need the stress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

