Don’t Close Your Eyes review

Goodreads:

Nestled on the shores of Lake Erie, the small town of Port Ariel, Ohio, is a welcome haven for Natalie St. John. Back home for the first time in years, she plans to visit old friends, mend a broken heart, and take a break from her busy veterinarian practice. But her peace is shattered her first night back, when she discovers the murdered body of her friend, Tamara Peyton.

Was it a random act of violence…or something personal? The answer becomes clear as Natalie is stalked by the voice of “Tamara,” whose terrifying phone calls warn her that she too, is going to die.

One by one, the people closest to Tamara are being savagely murdered. But neither Natalie nor Sheriff Nick Meredith recognizes the face of the devious killer who walks among them, hiding behind a well-crafted lie. Now, a murderer’s deadly act of vengeance demands one more sacrifice-and Natalie has been chosen to pay the price…

Finally finished the book – made myself set aside time to read it tonight rather than waiting till I got to work.  My eyes have been suffering terribly from too many hours in front of computers so today I decided to give them a break.  As such, I haven’t been on the computer hardly at all but have been reading on my Nook.  My eyes are feeling it now but I have two hours until work so will give them a rest as soon as I’m done with this post.  🙂

It pains me to say that I didn’t have the killer figured out before the author revealed them.  Normally I do and I thought I did but I was wrong.  It was pleasant to be surprised for a change – Thompson’s clues were so subtle that though I mentally made note of them at the time I read them, I failed to understand how they worked into the mystery.  Little things nagged me about one of the characters but they were small, inconsequential things that made me dismiss them as Thompson skirting the fringes of reality.  I should have listened to my instinct but I was so sure I had the killer figured out that I abandoned my suspicions. 

Thompson is superb with details of the little town so close to Lake Eerie.  I have to say, she makes me want to visit the region to see if her descriptions are accurate.  I’ve never really considered that area or whether it would be beautiful – it was North and that was all that counted.  I’m opposed to going North where it is colder but now I will have to rethink that.

I loved Tamara, even though we only got to know her briefly and was terribly disturbed that she was murdered.  In that little bit before her death, I felt a kinship to her that I don’t often feel with characters.  I also fell in love with the dog who tried so hard to save her.  Natalie is a great character as well – she flowed well and while I didn’t like her lack of common sense sometimes, she still made me think she’d make a good sister.  I was not as thrilled about Tamara’s sister Lily but I don’t know how I would react if my sister was brutally murdered.

The writing is superb, the story seems familiar and while the theme is, the killer just might surprise you.  I do so enjoy Carlene’s books – I don’t know why I used to doubt that I would.  She weaves together the plot and characters until you can close your eyes and be transported there.  It is amazing.

Good book, worth the effort and time! I give the book an A.  🙂

One thought on “Don’t Close Your Eyes review

  1. Kathy,

    I wasn’t able to respond to your comment on my blog because the post is gone. I accidentally deleted it.

Leave a Reply

