Jaws review

 

jaws

I have to say, I do not like the changes WordPress has made at all.  I liked my text screen being the size I wanted instead of this itty bitty screen they have now.  I don’t need all that extra junk they put on the page – I want my bigger text area back.

OK, so I reread Jaws the other day – I got it out for a quote but ended up reading the whole book.  B&N says:

The classic, blockbuster thriller of man-eating terror that inspired the Steven Spielberg movie and made millions of beachgoers afraid to go into the water. Experience the thrill of helpless horror again — or for the first time!

I, as usual, found the book way better than the movie – which is usually the case.  The book had more character issues from the infidelity of the chief’s wife to those who end up dying.  The knowledge in it about sharks and their habits isn’t all that great but one has to remember, when this was written, little was known about sharks.

I do think this story needlessly made people afraid of sharks and going into the ocean – but that is human nature.  The Grey made people afraid of wolves – I’m sure Grizzly when it came out made people afraid to go into the woods too.  Ok, I admit I bought into the grizzly one – I still would not go hike in the wilderness if I knew grizzlies were out there.  LOL

People get so close to sharks every single day in the ocean.  You would be surprised how often they come within 100 feet of the people swimming or wading near the beach.

This was not one of Peter’s best books – I loved Shark Trouble – but it is worth reading and moves along quite quickly.    I give Jaws an A.  🙂

Leave a Reply

