Witch review

witch

Goodreads: It was more than her dream house. For Ellen March, buying the secluded old house nestled in the pine woods marked the start of a new life. But strange visions began to cloud her mind–the shadowy figure of a woman, a ghostly white cat. Had Ellen buried the past? Or had a dark legend come back to haunt her?

I guess I should have read the reviews before starting the book because I expected a good ghost story but the story is more about small towns and how people perceive each other than about a ghost. 

Small town living can be challenging – I periodically spent years in the small town of West Liberty while growing up so can say this with the insight of someone who has lived in a small town.  Everyone knows everyone else’s business and make sweeping judgements based on past decisions not only from the individual but also the entire family.  It is amusing unless your family is in the limelight.

The small town in this story has the stereotypical characters which, I have to also say, are not necessarily so typical of small towns.  I did enjoy the main character as she sorts out her life.  My favorite part, though, was the house and the history surrounding it.  Maybe that is because I want a house so badly that I can see it clearly in my mind.

A good, if dated, read but not scary and not too much about the ghosts.  I give the book a C+.  🙂

Leave a Reply

