The Raven review

Finished watching the movie “The Raven” with John Cusack as Edgar Allen Poe.  I started it the other night but it was so vulgarly graphic that I didn’t want to keep watching it before I went to bed.  It seems I stopped about the point the director decided he was being too gory because the rest of the movie isn’t that bad at all.  I am not a fan of dead bodies – I don’t need to see heads cut off and hear the person scream as we understand that the killer is dismembering him while he is still alive.  Why do movie makers feel that they have to show such things? Sci-fi is one genre that doesn’t do that as much – something I appreciate.

John does an excellent job as Poe.  He is a great actor and I enjoy watching him play out his character right down to the trembling jaw muscles when he speaks of his beloved Emily.  He pulls it all off very well which made the movie worth seeing.  Luke Evans does a good job as the police officer trying to sort through the clues the killer leaves as he also puts up with Emily’s enraged father and Poe’s tortured soul.

The idea is an interesting one but I think it would have worked better if it hadn’t been Edgar Allen Poe because people know too much about the man.  I don’t think any actor could live up to everyone’s expectations to be the twisted Poe so if it had been someone else – like Stephen King – it might have gone over better.  Cusack, in my humble opinion, does a wonderful job but I have read other reviews that disagree.

My one thing I thought was a bit much was how the killer anticipated every single move of both the police and Poe – down to the second they would enter the theater house and all.  I don’t think any amount of planning can predict such a thing nor could any criminal be so fortuitous in his opportunities to escape.  I would have felt better if they had wounded him at least.

I give the movie 3 out of 5 stars.  It isn’t one I can see myself watching over and over but one I could appreciate the strong acting of John Cusack.  🙂  It is streaming on Netflix if anyone is interested in watching it.

Leave a Reply

