The Pumpkin Man – second review

11580450

Goodreads: After her father’s gruesome murder, Jenn needed a place to get away from it all with some friends, to take her mind off her grief. The empty seaside cottage she inherited seemed perfect. Jenn didn’t know that the cottage held arcane secrets, mysteries long hidden and best left alone. She didn’t realize until it was too late that the old books and Ouija board she finds there really do hold great power. And it was only after her friend’s headless body was discovered that she knew the legend of the local bogeyman was no mere legend at all.

An evil has been unleashed, a terrifying figure previously only spoken of in whispers. But now the whispers will become screams. Beware…THE PUMPKIN MAN.

To get myself in the Halloween spirit, I decided to re-read The Pumpkin Man.  I am not sure which time bothered me more – this one or the first.  The book is creepy, it is kind of gruesome though not overly graphic, and it makes your skin crawl with all the witchery stuff.  It is a great read for Halloween but not for the faint of heart.

I was worried that I would have nightmares but I haven’t thus far.  The books characters are well developed, well thought up, and interact well to make the story flow quickly through.  I thought there was one or two plot holes but overall, they weren’t noticeable.

Have to say, I hated the ending this time as much as last.  It was a bit anticlimactic and predictable.  The book definitely makes me know I will never touch a Ouija board ever again.  When I was very young my mom or one of my older sisters brought one home.  I remember watching them play with it one night and how I was so afraid something actually would come through or happen.  I’ve never desired to use or own one.  Some things are better left undisturbed.  I don’t like occult or satanic stories as a general rule.

However, this story is a fast, entertaining read that could have made a wonderful scary Halloween movie. Again, if you are easily bothered by this kind of thing, I wouldn’t read it but if you like scary fun – it is perfect for this holiday.  I give it an A.

Leave a Reply

