Waking Kate review

From Sarah Addison Allen, the beloved author of Garden Spells, comes Waking Kate, a story about a woman who soon will face an unforeseen change in her life. One sticky summer day as Kate is waiting for her husband to come home from his bicycle shop, she spots her distinguished neighbor returning from his last day of work after eighty-six years at Atlanta’s oldest men’s clothing store. Over a cup of butter coffee, he tells Kate a story of love and heartbreak that makes her remember her past, question her present, and wonder what the future will bring.

This is a short novelette considered as a prequel to “Lost Lake”.  It is 57 pages long and has an additional 30 pages of the first chapter of “Lost Lake”.  In all, it took me about 30 minutes to read but it caught my interest after the first couple pages.

Kate is a great character thus far making me look forward to what she will encounter at a place her aunt owned years before called Lost Lake.  It is going to be another enchanting book, I am sure from the first bit I’ve read.  I won’t know until I buy “Lost Lake” later this week.

These are the kinds of books I would like to write but have no experience with.  My genre has always been crime and horror so enchanted love stories are a bit out of my league.  Maybe this will be the inspiration I need to read more and develop a style of my own.  I have come to appreciate the kind of books that are gentle and spirited rather than gory and violent.  🙂

I have no doubt, after reading “Waking Kate”, that I am going to like “Lost Lake”.  Before I read it though, I feel I need to read a different author so the book I will start later today is the Emilie Richards “One Mountain Away”.

UPDATE: Just found out “Lost Lake” won’t be out till the end of January so guess I won’t be reading that anytime soon.  I did notice that I read a book a few weeks ago and forgot to write a review so will try to do that later.

Leave a Reply

