Wilderness review

18630723

Goodreads says: Addison Goodheart is a mystery even to himself. He was born in an isolated home surrounded by a deep forest, never known to his father, kept secret from everyone but his mother, who barely accepts him. She is haunted by private demons and keeps many secrets—none of which she dreads more than the young son who adores her. 
 
Only in the woods, among the wildlife, is Addison truly welcome. Only there can he be at peace. Until the day he first knows terror, the day when his life changes radically and forever . 

I’m afraid this book failed to excite me whatsoever.  I don’t know what it is about Koontz lately that seems to make me go “blah” when he used to be one of my favorite authors.

The character seemed a compilation of several previous characters of Koontz – there was no originality that I could discern.  I suppose this happens after writing dozens of books.

The ending was abrupt and left me disgusted – I will not buy the book that this was a prequel for (Innocence) because I wasn’t impressed with the work that went into this novelette.

Sorry, Koontz, but you slide further down my “favorites” list all the time – write like you did in “Watchers”, “Phantoms”, “Cold Fire”, “Whispers”…etc., I miss that author.

Leave a Reply

