Miles to Go review

miles to goSo I decided to start on this book instead of the other.  I started it this evening while the rains beat down in a nice rhythmic dance on the roof.  Shortly after the rain stopped for the night, I was done and book two is history.

Goodreads: Alan Christoffersen, a once-successful advertising executive, wakes one morning to find himself injured, alone, and confined to a hospital bed in Spokane, Washington. Sixteen days earlier, reeling from the sudden loss of his wife, his home, and his business, Alan left everything he knew behind and set off on an extraordinary cross-country journey. Carrying only a backpack, he planned to walk to Key West, the farthest destination on his map. But a vicious roadside stabbing has interrupted Alan’s trek and robbed him of his one source of solace: the ability to walk.Homeless and facing months of difficult recovery, Alan has nowhere to turn—until a mysterious woman enters his life and invites him into her home. Generous and kind, Angel seems almost too good to be true, but all is not as it appears. Alan soon realizes that before he can return to his own journey, he must first help Angel with hers.From one of America’s most beloved and bestselling storytellers comes an astonishing tale of life and death, love and second chances, and why sometimes the best way to heal your own suffering is by helping to heal someone else’s.Inspiring, moving, and full of wisdom, Miles to Go picks up where the bestseller The Walk left off, continuing the unforgettable series about one man’s unrelenting search for hope.

I couldn’t decide which book to start with and decided on this one because I had already read the first in the series.  Quite frankly, I didn’t like where book one left off so decided to see how things were going in book two.  I do admit to liking Alan though I have to say I find his progress and the people he meets along the way more than a little factious.  I’m very skeptical at how a person could reach the distances he claims to have reached in such a short time – however, that aside, I do find the book fascinating and fun.

The writing is well done and one can’t deny the Christian aspect of the story.  I like that it is free of gore and violence, though the man does get stabbed three times at the end of book one.  Still, it is a good story and well worth the effort.  I will enjoy the next book and have to say it doesn’t take long to read one – about 2 1/2 hours for over 300 pages.

I can’t say I love the series as much as my sister did but they are good and I will finish the series.  I like Evans bent towards Christianity and find his writing refreshing in that area.  I easily give the book an A.

One thought on “Miles to Go review

Leave a Reply

