The Small Hand review

8675320

Goodreads: Returning home from a client visit late one evening, Adam Snow takes a wrong turn and stumbles across the derelict old White House. Compelled by curiousity he decides to enter, only to be repelled when he feels the unmistakeable sensation of a small hand creeping onto his own. This is just the beginning of a series of odd experiences. 

First off, let me say I did enjoy this story.  It is rather creepy and I have to admit, I didn’t see the ending coming.  I am usually so good at those things but this one has a little twist that I don’t think I would have seen coming even if the hints weren’t so subtle.  It just never occurred to me.

I wouldn’t say it is the best Susan Hill but it was worth the read.  She writes in the first person which I’m a bit leery of but she does pull it off leaving me wondering why I ever doubted.  There are stories I have tried to read like that and can’t get through the first chapter or two.

My only small complaint were the extreme descriptions she went into over every little thing.  Things that really had no bearing on the small hand but were more fluff in the life of the main character.  Still, this little complaint did not take away from the creepiness of the story.

I like a good ghost story.  I give it a B.

Leave a Reply

