The Neon Rain review

55022

Goodreads: Introducing the New Orleans detective Dave Robicheaux Dave Robicheaux that he’s on somebody’s hit list, and now the homicide detective is trying to discover just who that is before he ends up dead. found dead in the Bayou swamp – a case no one seems keen for him to investigate. But Robicheaux persists and uncovers a web of corruption that some would kill to protect, leading him to a terrifying confrontation with the one horror he fears most of all.

This is an old book from 1987 – set in the very much pre-Katrina days when New Orleans was in its hay day.  I know that by book 6 in the series, it is post-Katrina so I imagine I have that to look forward to as I move through this series.

Written in such lovely language like “the mist still clung like torn cotton” and “the streets were lined with oaks, and the yards themselves seemed to explode with every type of Southern elephant ears, hibiscus, tangles or red and yell roses.”  It made New Orleans and the South come alive for me.  I’ve never had the urge to visit that area but it makes me rethink that.

I have to mention that the only reason I started reading this book was due to watching the movie “In The Electric Mist” which was book six.  As much as I want to read that one, I figured I couldn’t in good conscience start a series in the middle when the first books were available.  I didn’t expect to like the book – I’m not big on crime dramas these days and this series is never-ending but I have to read the first five to get to number six.

Steeped in history, the story progresses quickly and while the main character does some rather stupid things – which he admits to himself – I ended up liking him quite a bit.  Tommy Lee Jones plays him in the movie so that is who I had in my head when reading the book.

So anyway, I do plan on reading the entire first six books of the series – I know it has over 20 in all but I’ll commit to the first six anyway.  🙂  I give the book an A+.  If you’d like an old crime drama story that comes together quite well in the end, I recommend it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

