Death of a Snob review

840565

Goodreads: Facing a head cold and lonely Xmas, Highland Sergeant Hamish Macbeth accepts a holiday invite from gorgeous Jane Wetherby to her Scottish island health farm, and to learn who wants her dead. Locals threaten, fellow guests little better. Everybody hates snobbish Heather, but the verdict is accident when her neck breaks at the bottom of a cliff.

Alright, I admit it, I just started this one thinking I would get a chapter in before bed.  Well, it was only 100 pages so once I was 30 pages in, I figured I might as well stay up and finish it.  I know, right? I need my sleep for a busy day at work tomorrow but stay up reading.  What is a girl to do?

So Hamish takes a vacation of sorts and the place sounds pretty enough but I missed having some of the old characters in the story.  I also will comment, just because it irritated me slightly, that whoever edited this book did not do a good job.  There were several typos throughout – some were confusing.  But it did little to take away from the story.

With several new characters to deal with, Hamish isn’t quite so laid back as is his usual practice when loafing around his own police station.  Have to say, I didn’t care much for any of them – talk about a bunch of snobby rich people.

The story went by very quickly leaving me to wistfully think of starting book seven.  However, it is almost midnight and work is going to be a bear tomorrow so I best head off to bed.  I think I’m going to read a Sue Grafton book next but haven’t decided – can’t keep reading Hamish or they will all start to run together.  I give this book a B+.  🙂

Leave a Reply

