Gift From the Sea review

77295

Goodreads: In this inimitable, beloved classic—graceful, lucid and lyrical—Anne Morrow Lindbergh shares her meditations on youth and age; love and marriage; peace, solitude and contentment as she set them down during a brief vacation by the sea. Drawing inspiration from the shells on the shore, Lindbergh’s musings on the shape of a woman’s life bring new understanding to both men and women at any stage of life. A mother of five, an acclaimed writer and a pioneering aviator, Lindbergh casts an unsentimental eye on the trappings of modernity that threaten to overwhelm us: the time-saving gadgets that complicate rather than simplify, the multiple commitments that take us from our families. And by recording her thoughts during a brief escape from everyday demands, she helps readers find a space for contemplation and creativity within their own lives.

I do not want to say anything bad about this book.  Her stay on Captiva makes me want to drive over there as it is a mere fourteen miles from my house but it has changed a lot since 1955, that is for sure.

This book is delightful in the talk of the sea shells and finding oneself by spending some time in seclusion without the modern gadgets we think we can’t live without.  I love the sea shells and have looked at all the ones mentioned as I work in the Shell Factory.

Her insights were groundbreaking in their day – and certainly I found some enlightenment along the way.  However, a lot of what I read was not new to me which makes me feel further along in “finding myself” than she was in 1955.  But, of course, the subject of finding oneself has become a huge topic since then so it would be hard not to have crossed the subject a few times in reading, radio, television or movies.

When I originally bought the book, I thought it was something I would love and want to send a copy of to my sisters.  Now, after completing it, I won’t because they also have figured out most of this stuff already so it wouldn’t be worth the money for the book.  I wouldn’t be surprised if they have read it already anyway.

Anyway, I don’t regret reading it.  I give it a B – I’m sure back in 1955, I would have given it an A+ but whatever.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

