Death of a Maid review

1838117

Goodreads: Mrs. Gillespie is famous around the northwest of Sutherland for being the best charwoman ever. Of course, if anyone has any social pretensions one does not say charwoman, one talks about “my maid”. Hamish Macbeth wins Mrs. Gillespie’s services in a church raffle but spends most of the day trying to avoid her. She is a malicious gossip and she bangs around the furniture and clanks pots–he wonders how on earth she managed to get such a good reputation. Then she is found dead in a large house belonging to a retired professor who was out the day she was killed. She has been struck down by a metal bucket of water. Remembering Mrs. Gillespie’s malicious gossip, Hamish is sure she delighted in finding out secrets and probably searched through the drawers of the houses she cleaned, which means everyone whose home she cleaned could be a suspect.

Really don’t know where they get the above descriptions but the maid did not die in the house belonging to a retired professor but in the garden on her way to her car.  Nor was the maid famous for cleaning.  In fact, her cleaning was positively terrible.

Is it blackmail? Is it power? Money? Maybe it is all three – a trifecta of crime.  Poor Hamish, always getting the short end of the stick.  Blair is particularly vicious to many of the characters – his callous, racist attitude comes to light in ugly ways.

Oh the horror of it all.  The story flowed quite well and I enjoyed reading it – I do believe I will take a break now.  Yes, I know I keep saying that but I’m going to take a break from all reading for several days – maybe a whole week.  My eyes have been bothering me so think they could use the rest.

I do believe Hamish is going to stay alone for quite some time and though I don’t care for Priscilla, I did like Elspeth for him but he prefers his animals.  He hates his little peaceful life disturbed by women.  Poor man, so misunderstood.  🙂

Give the book an A.  Wish I could write like this.

One thought on “Death of a Maid review

Leave a Reply

