Death of a Policeman review

17899665

Goodreads: Local police stations all over the Scottish Highlands are being threatened with closure. This presents the perfect opportunity for Detective Chief Inspector Blair, who would love nothing more than to get rid of Sergeant Hamish Macbeth. Blair suggests that Cyril Sessions, a keen young police officer, visit the town of Lochdubh to monitor exactly what Macbeth does every day. Macbeth hears about Blair’s plan and is prepared to insure that Cyril returns back to headquarters with a full report. But Cyril is soon found dead and Hamish quickly becomes the prime suspect in his murder.

Wow, it took me three days to read this one – just seemed to kind of drag a bit to me but also, I got busy and couldn’t get back to it.

Once again, Hamish does not become the prime suspect in the murder of Cyril.  He is with his constable the entire time and no one seemed to like the policeman anyway.

Yes, I am starting to get a bit burned out on this series – it had to happen sooner or later because I’ve been reading them one right after another.  In fact, I already have the next book read and will do a review of it tomorrow.  I am now one book away from having the series completed until the author writes the next one.  In truth, it will be nice to take a break from them.  Now I am obsessed with Hamish and wondering what happens next in his life – once I get to the end, I will be forced to wait so that will give me a chance to read other things.

Patricia and Elspeth both make an appearance in this one – try to guess which one he becomes engaged to for a hot second?  Poor Hamish, unlucky in love.  At least he has the nice constable Dick to do his cooking, cleaning and to take care of his pets.  🙂

I give the book a B+ – it is entertaining but I felt like it repeated itself a lot with Dick always being asleep in a patio chair, etc.

2 thoughts on “Death of a Policeman review

  1. I know, right? But I am almost done caught up – have one to review that I read yesterday and then one more to read! Then I can’t read any until the author writes the next one. I will be glad to be done. What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

