Walkers of Dembley and Murderous Marriage reviews

139177

Goodreads: Agatha Raisin joins Dembley hiking club to pursue handsome Cotswold neighbor James Lacey. Angry member Jessica targets wealthy landowner Charles Fraith, who retaliates with tea invitation, but her body is found dead on his grounds. Agatha and James investigate the crime, the group ready to kill.

Well, this one was pretty predictable and even a tad bit disappointing.  Not that it wasn’t well written and a decent read, but after the Hamish Macbeth series, I expected more than a middle-aged woman blundering about after some handsome neighbor.  Kind of thought Agatha would grow beyond this by now.

The story is alright – hopefully one will end sometime without Agatha almost being killed.  That is one of the reasons I stopped reading the Maggie O’Dell series – Maggie was always “recovering” from the last book’s assault on her life at the beginning and being shot, kidnapped, stabbed, etc., by the end of the next one.  No one would really have that happen – it was too far-fetched even for my pretty relaxed standards.

I give this one a C and hope the next will be better.

181665Goodreads: In her fifth outing, Agatha Raisin – the sometimes pushy, sometimes endearing heroine of Beaton’s Cotswold village mystery series – has her marriage to next-door neighbour James Lacey disrupted by the startling appearance of her undivorced, long-thought-dead first husband, Jimmy Raisin. Matters go quickly from bad to worse when Jimmy is found murdered – and Agatha and James are the prime suspects.

Well, I’m not to sure what to say about this one.  I didn’t want to read it because I knew the ex would blunder in and ruin the marriage.  Of course, if he hadn’t, the books wouldn’t be “Agatha Raisin” anymore as she was likely to take the last name of her husband.  The story was fun enough and while I thought I knew the murderer right off, there were enough red herrings to make me doubt myself until the end when I could exclaim, somewhat smugly, that I had known it all along.

Better than the last book but still not as good as Hamish.  Poor Agatha has the worst luck when it comes to men.  Well, she has worse luck when it comes to the murderer almost doing away with her, again.  Think she has used up five of her nine lives.

I could see less of myself in this story.  Agatha seemed so emotionally weak which I know she went through a lot in the story but I found myself wanting her to put on her big girl pants and quit wallowing in self-pity.  Maybe she will emerge through all of this a stronger character.

The countryside sounds wonderful – I find myself wishing I could live in a small town with beautiful countryside.  Then I remember that I grew up in a small town out in the middle of nowhere – it really wasn’t that pleasant.

I give the book an A and look forward to the next one.  If you haven’t given the series a try but like cozy mysteries, you should.  🙂

 

 

One thought on “Walkers of Dembley and Murderous Marriage reviews

Leave a Reply

