The Inn review

21535288

The ramshackle B&B in western Massachusetts isn’t just an inheritance–it seems like the best chance for Jack and Annabel Devlin to save their marriage and start over. But Annabel’s first impressions of the remote inn don’t ease her nerves. In fact, everything about the gloomy Victorian draws Annabel back into childhood nightmares. . .

Maybe my expectations are too high.  I have to take stock in myself to see if I’m maybe ready for a new genre because it has become increasingly hard to find a ghost story that wows me.

The Inn started out alright – not overly scary but not terrible either.  It kind of reeked as a Shining copycat which would, of course, always fail but I did love the Shining so I’m a bit bent that way.  I thought the Supernaturals was going to be the same but it quickly became one of my top ten favorites.  Sadly, this one did not.

Character development seemed lacking and the story went from somewhat interesting to kind of ridiculous after the first chapters.  Maybe the author got confused as to what audience he was writing for – started out with adult but ended up in YA.

Think I need to take a break from ghost stories.  I am getting the same burn out I had with crime drama after reading a few dozen James Patterson books.

Anyway, this story was a disappointment to me.  😦

 

Leave a Reply

