The Starter House review

17349327

Goodreads: In the vein of Heart-Shaped Box and The Thirteenth Tale, Starter House is a haunting and skillfully told debut novel about a newlywed couple and their first home — a home that seems to be haunted by a very malicious ghost.

Lacey Miszlak grew up homeless; her crazy mother dragged her from one terrible living situation to the next. But now she thinks the pieces of her life have finally come together. She’s pregnant with her first child, and she and her husband Eric have moved into the home of their dreams. She knows soon its beautiful sunlit rooms will be filled with the joy of the new family she will build there.

But there’s a strange darkness on the stairway and an odd little boy who won’t leave Lacey alone, and soon she’s forced to realize that a danger she never suspected is lurking in the hallways of her beautiful new home. She’s going to have to solve a decades-old mystery to save her family from an evil that has lingered in wait for them for years.

OK, I like haunted house stories – I look for good ones all over and take a gamble on ones that I find while browsing, as was the case with this story.  Usually I am disappointed, and this one was no different.

I can’t even say the story started out well because I felt it was a kind of jumbled from the get go.  It was really difficult to focus on any aspect of it.  I think the writer has the ability to do much better – her writing style is likeable but I think she got overwhelmed in telling it in a cohesive manner.

That being said, I do hope she keeps writing but will classify this one as a novice attempt.  I can’t give it a D because there were a few chapters that piqued my interest so I will give it a C-.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s