Ghost Story review revisited

19581

For four aging men in the terror-stricken town of Milburn, New York, an act inadvertently carried out in their youth has come back to haunt them. Now they are about to learn what happens to those who believe they can bury the past — and get away with murder.

Peter Straub’s classic bestseller is a work of “superb horror” (The Washington Post Book World) that, like any good ghost story, stands the test of time — and conjures our darkest fears and nightmares.

Wow, I can finally cross this book off my list.  Last time I know I didn’t get past the first two hundred pages but, after three days, I finally closed it out.  I hate books this long – 566 pages – and won’t read another if I can help it but felt like I should finish this one because I like ghost stories and people kept saying this one was so great.

I’m sorry, I can not concur.  This story seemed long, drawn out and not the least bit scary.  It drug and I was close to quitting several times before I finally managed to push through.  When it ended, I felt nothing but relief.

A great ghost story was The Shining.  That was one I was so disappointed to finish – I wanted it to go on and on.  No, I wouldn’t dream of reading the sequel – you can’t improve on The Shining.

OK, this book is alright.  There was werewolves and the like – I’m sorry…I’m trying to think of good things to say about it.  OK, I liked Sears and Ricky – they were genteel, refined male characters that I enjoyed and I liked young Peter once his character developed beyond the childish.  I did like Stella in the end – didn’t care much for her in the beginning but she redeemed herself.

As I read, I imagined that he writer had written himself in as Don.  Not a bad character but not a hero either.  OK, yes, in the end he was the “hero” of sorts.  I’m sorry, that was probably a spoiler.  Sigh.

I do like some of Peter Straub’s work – this just wasn’t one of my favorites.  I give it a B- for the couple characters I actually cared about.

Leave a Reply

